September’s haul.

Everything I Bought from a charity shop last month…

Here’s the excercise I never want to do: an honest  appraisal of everything I’ve bought in a month from charity shops, counting the accumulated cost, and asking the question I try to ask myself at the time of purchase: do I really need it?

“Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.”

Excellent advice, although William Morris didn’t have to contend with my children’s appetite for plastic toys, I think.

Actually, I don’t think the roll call for September will be too bad, I’ve definitely been making efforts to curb my addiction.

So; here goes.

  • Trainers, £4. New and unused, as far as I can see. I wanted to buy some anyway, because I was starting to think that doing Davina’s 15 Minutes Fit in bare feet on wooden floors might give me varicose veins. So I stopped. Now I have trainers, I can definitely exercise, and I will. Any. Evening. Now. Totally useful.
  • 3 paintings; £7.50, £5 and £2.50

image image

These are bad photographs. The pictures seem beautiful to me, and it feels nice to have original paintings on the walls. The frames feel right, too.

  • Large clip framed poster advertising a gallery in France, which I plan to hang on the wall of the upstairs landing. £2.
  • Edna O’Brien’s memoir, Country Girl, and  2 cookery books, including the most useful sounding title I’ve come across: How to feed your whole family a healthy, balanced diet with very little money and hardly any time, even if you have a tiny kitchen, only 3 saucepans (1 with an ill fitting lid) and no fancy gadgets, unless you count the garlic crusher, by Gill Holcombe. 3 books for £1.
  • Corkscrew, .50p. I lost the custody battle for the old one, apparently. Obviously useful, and a pleasing red colour, too.
  • Coat from Kew, £4. I have a lot of coats, so I can’t pretend I need this, in the strictest sense of the word. It’s a shade somewhere between wine and the darker side of the autumn leaf spectrum. It all but screamed Bletchley Park code breaker at me, and I couldn’t resist that. It hangs nicely next to my French Resistance Mac.
  • Knee length dress from Jigsaw, £3. Flower print on a navy background. Well, I’m wearing it today. But I just went to count how many dresses I own, and I got to…actually, I can’t tell you, and I’m not even going to try and justify this.
  • Nicole Farhi navy and black oversized cardigan, £7.50
  • A Kent Garden Of England sampler. £4. I think this was a mistake, actually. It may have crossed the border into twee. But Leo’s taken it for his bedroom, because it has Kent on it, and he’s parochial.
  • Pink plastic Palace Pets scribbler toy, .50p. It’s drawing, and therefore educational.
  • Trangia camping stove, £2. In case I go camping again, and decide to cook something this time. Or  even just make a cup of tea.

I think that’s it, and it could be a lot worse. My constant trawling of charity shops feels like a thing to excercise discernment over, rather than give up altogether. At least, that’s how it was in September. October, on the other hand, October may be out of hand. But that’s another story.

2 thoughts on “September’s haul.

  1. Hi, Sarah, do you use it? The title sounds great, but I still don’t think I’ve actually cooked anything from it yet! I tend to just make up my cooking as I go along, but I like cookery books to look at

    Like

Leave a Reply

