On days like these

I read this article earlier today:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/bunmi-laditan/how-to-prepare-for-parenthood-in-11-easy-steps_b_5411134.html

It’s humorous, of course. It’s also (and I don’t want to terrify any non-parents reading this), almost entirely true. Give or take an Orangutan. And also, for me at least, the anxiety. I can’t quite explain how this is so, but it’s definitely true that I feel less anxious now than I did before I had children. It’s not that I don’t have things to worry about. I think I feel more capable now, because I’m responsible for two completely new human beings. The buck stops with me, and there is something calming in that.

Today we had a wonderful time at the Natural History Museum.

The list of things children make more difficult could be infinite; things like sleeping, walking, eating, washing, cleaning your house, going to the toilet, reading, ever being alone, leaving your house after 6pm, having a social life or hearing yourself think. See Michael McIntyre:

There is another list, however; a list of things that are most emphatically enhanced by having children, and visits to the Natural History Museum would be on it. (Other things on the list would be: Christmas, Easter, fireworks, bonfires, snow, beaches, woods, zoos, nature in general, birthdays, pantomimes, reading aloud, dancing in your kitchen, hugs, rain, parks..and who wants to be alone anyway?).

The realistic moving and roaring model of a T-Rex is the big draw at the museum, but the room Leo, Flora and I like best is the interactive one in the basement. It’s full of rows of trays of objects to get out, touch and investigate. Shells, pine cones, shrunken crocodile heads, fossils, a taxidermy fox, snake skins, star fish, butterflies, rocks, pressed flowers and leaves…Flora gets each thing out and wows and wonders at it in delight. Leo takes things under the microscope, weighs them, looks them up on the computer, examines their details. Hours could have passed in that room.

This evening I watched another episode of Lucy Worsley’s A Very British Romance on the iplayer. I wish someone had told me that I wanted to be Lucy Worsley when I grew up when I was 21. I might have stayed longer at University.

I also tried to decide what to do tomorrow (actually, today, now). Maybe 2 Willow Rd and Fenton House in Hampstead (I have to feel I’m using that National Trust membership), but I also got distracted by thoughts of pre-raphaelites and I might want to go and see Ophelia at Tate Britain.

Ophelia 1851-2 Sir John Everett Millais, Bt 1829-1896 Presented by Sir Henry Tate 1894 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/N01506
Ophelia 1851-2 Sir John Everett Millais, Bt 1829-1896 Presented by Sir Henry Tate 1894 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/N01506
Leave a Reply

